Home » News » CDRC research team shortlisted for ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize

CDRC research team shortlisted for ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize

A team of researchers from the Consumer Data Research Centre have been announced as finalists in this year’s ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize, in recognition of the work they are doing to improve access to healthy and sustainable diets for customers of major food retailers. 

The annual prize, now in its 11th year, recognises researchers who achieve outstanding economic or societal impact from their research.

The Nutrition and Lifestyle Analytics Team, which is led by Professor Michelle Morris and includes Dr Emily Ennis, Dr Francesca Pontin, Dr Victoria Jenneson and Dr Stephen Clark, are one of two finalists in the Outstanding Business and Enterprise Impact category.

Professor Michelle Morris, Professor of Data Science for Food at the University of Leeds commented:

“I am very proud to lead such a brilliant team and for us to be included amongst such inspiring finalists for these Celebrating Impact Prizes. 

Food is at the heart of some of the world’s greatest challenges and as a team we are driven to deliver impactful research that makes healthy and more sustainable diets available to all.

We couldn’t do this work without industry partners passionate about driving change, the support of the ESRC and University more widely – thanks to you all.”

Dr Emily Ennis, CDRC’s Research and Impact Manager welcomed news of the team’s recognition:

“CDRC was developed to use consumer data to provide unique insight into a diverse range of societal and economic challenges. This research is exactly this.

It’s exciting to see the team using these real-world data to deliver real-world impact: changing how businesses are run and the products they provide, in order to ensure UK consumers have access to affordable, healthy, and sustainable food.

Michelle and the team continue to grow their network and research power, and we’re so excited to be a part of where it goes next.”

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 15 November 2023, as part of the ESRC Festival of Social Science.